[it’s where you could find me when you couldn’t find me anywhere else]

Oh, You Ran me Over…

love-wallpaper1It was a foggy March morning, with the sun still blurred but sunshiny at the horizon, and it was the perfect time to boost my adrenaline. Every sunshiny morning is a perfect time to do that anyway. I walked from my dorm to the AS parking lot and easily spotted Richard leaning on his car. He was reading the morning paper, a cup of coffee on his right hand.

“Know what? No matter what I do, no matter how hard I try, you really don’t see me.” I said when I approached him.

“But I saw you. I always see you.” He said with that sexy voice matched with that sexy smile.

“You didn’t.” I said, faking seriousness. “And you never do.”

“Why? What’s the problem with you?” The smile began to fade.

“Nothing. I’m just stating a fact. ‘Cause technically, you don’t really see me. You just see the light bouncing off my body.”

He frowned. I smiled… and laughed… and started to jog. He caught up with me, shaking his head as if to say, “You are such a nerd.” I raised my eyebrow at him as if to say, “I’m not. I just love learning.” Naaah, we just jogged along the academic oval in silence.

It has been our morning routine since January. Every morning during schooldays, we would meet at the parking lot, tease each other for five minutes, and jog for about an hour. Then we would eat at McDonald’s at Philcoa, or at Chowking or Jollibee or Greenwich, and he would drive me to my dorm to prepare for class. This has been our way of a date. It was nothing romantic but I guess it was always something special. There’s always this “kilig factor” inside me whenever we meet. There’s always this kind of childish anticipation and of heartwarming reminiscence. Maybe because of the adrenaline. Or perhaps, the love I feel. Or maybe, just maybe, it’s because every time we jog together is a reminder of how we met…

It was a foggy morning too, the only difference was that it happened in January. I was jogging, with my headphones banging out loud. It was peaceful, nevertheless, because I seldom find time to be with myself, alone. So, I was in solitude until I tripped over my shoelace, lost my balance, and landed face-front on the hard ground. Every muscle in my body seemed to ache and I thought every bone in my body would break. Then, to add to my misfortune, someone almost, almost, run me over. He tripped over my foot and landed next to me. (Well, at least not on top of me.) Anyway, he stood up fast, shook the dirt on his clothes, and began to jog again.

“Hey, bastard!!!” I yelled at him, my being taklesa apparent.

Surprisingly, he looked back at me. It was so hard to feign anger when all I wanted to do was laugh.

“Are you calling me?” he said, ever so innocent. That’s the first time I noticed that he was my crush in one of my classes.

“Are you a bastard?” I asked, taray mode.

“No. I thought you were saying Richard.”

Sooo… my crush was not only an uncaring and indifferent asshole but also a deaf one, I thought. I was so unnerved that I stared at him for a full minute. Perhaps, he got back to his senses and started walking towards me.

“I’m so sorry, Angel.” He said while running his hand through his hair. Wow, I never thought he would remember my name. I almost hugged him right then and there. But I stopped myself, fortunately.

“Whatever.” Still taray mode.

“I was just not on my mind.” He explained.

“Oh. Figures.”

And we ended up in the infirmary that time. He was insisting that I be checked up for broken bones. I agreed, just to be with him much longer. Taray mode off, we talked about lots of things. Then I realized that it was the first time I had a conversation with him. *kilig*

The next morning during our class, he surprised me by sitting next to me. He surprised me even more by asking if I was free for a date that night.

“Well, it depends on who I’m gonna date.” I answered.

“Hmm, if it’s me, would you go?”

“It’s a date then.” I winked.

He laughed so hard that the professor stopped her lecture and glared at us. Oh well…

So we had a couple of dates more. Still having them until now. Then we planned to jog every morning. And the rest was history.

Anyway, back to present, we finished jogging. He took me to my dorm and waited for me to shower and get dressed, which I admired in him because he never complains about the time. Then we went to his house, for a change. After he showered, we ate breakfast (which he cooked himself). Then we stayed there for a while, savoring the free weekend because it gets rarer now that semester’s almost over. We sat at his porch and talked about random things while drinking hot chocolate. Just perfect.

Sometimes, love would just tap us on the shoulder and announce it’s bearer. But my story isn’t like that. Love actually ran me over, almost killed me, and brought me to life by giving me a disguised bastard. I mean, Richard could be a real asshole at times but he is a total angel. Like me. Oh, damn perfect how we match each other!

4 responses

  1. kmpnote

    It’s a wonderful story!

    April 15, 2009 at 12:48 AM

  2. kmpnote

    However, English is so poor, i might not know about your blog…The more effort.

    April 15, 2009 at 5:32 PM

  3. ohh i see..
    well i hope u could still understand some of ma posts..
    :))
    goodluck in learning english!

    April 15, 2009 at 7:01 PM

Leave a Reply

