[it’s where you could find me when you couldn’t find me anywhere else]

The Love That’s Taken Away

His eyes are genuinely sad
The twinkles are dimmed by the shadows
I look at him from afar
Where he doesn’t know, he doesn’t know

I know he’s bothered by something
His stares are blank and faraway
Slowly the tears are welling up
But he’s fighting back, he’s fighting back

Pre-chorus:
As I make my way towards him
I feel that I’m afraid
What if he just ignores me
What if he just walks away

Chorus:
Why can’t he see that I’m here
to help him ease the pain away
Why can’t he feel that I’m here
to put a smile on his face
When can I gather my strength
and find the courage to tell him
that I’m here to replace the love
that’s taken away

His world is crumbling apart
The light can’t shine through the darkness
The dark clouds of fear are caving in
He’s stuck in the cold, stuck in the cold

Pre-chorus II:
Doesn’t he notice that I’m always here
Just stealing a glance
I can’t keep on standing here
I need to take a chance

Chorus:
Why can’t he see that I’m here
to help him ease the pain away
Why can’t he feel that I’m here
to put a smile on his face
When can I gather my strength
and find the courage to tell him
that I’m here to replace the love
that’s taken away

Bridge:
I know I can’t stand to see him hurt like this
But I know deep inside me, it’s not me he needed
Forever I’ll curse at the wind and hug myself
Cause I can’t tell him, not like this, not right now
When we’re both hurting ourselves

Chorus:
Why can’t he see that I’m here
to help him ease the pain away
Why can’t he feel that I’m here
to put a smile on his face
When can I gather my strength
and find the courage to tell him
that I’m here to replace the love
that’s taken away

Leave a Reply

