[it’s where you could find me when you couldn’t find me anywhere else]

Too Much Light

I’ve always been fascinated by city lights.

But tonight, they suffocate me. I feel the neon signs closing in on me. Mocking me. The street lamps are glowing. I am not. The building windows are brightly sneering at me. Towering over me.

As I walk away from him, I painfully count every step, silently wishing upon the stars. “Please, don’t let him let me go.”

But there are no stars. You can’t see the stars here in the city. There’s too much light.

Tonight, I despise the city lights. They obscure my view of the sky. They radiate life and energy. Such an appropriate ridicule for what I feel inside.

Dead and empty.

Tonight, I belong to the shadows.

3 responses

  1. I love your blog! It would mean a lot if you could check out mine? And let me know what you think about my poems? http://nikashblogs.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/poetry/

    February 18, 2012 at 11:49 PM

    • Thanks for dropping by. I appreciate your comment! Of course I will check out your blog. Keep writing! 🙂

      February 19, 2012 at 10:51 PM

      • you’re very welcome and thank YOU!

        February 19, 2012 at 10:52 PM

Leave a Reply

